Coming home

Whether it’s been a good day or a bad day, the pleasure I get from arriving home remains the same.

I love that moment when I close the door behind me and slide the lock across, shutting the whole world out. Maybe today it’s a horrible, scary, stressful world… maybe yesterday it was a wonderful, beautiful, exciting world… no difference. Shutting it out at the end of the day is something my mind, body, and soul crave. The lock clicks into place, and there is silence, usually broken only by a contented sigh from me. I turn, kick off my shoes, get changed into something more comfortable, sit down, and just bask in the knowledge that I am alone, in my home, where no one will disturb me. I can recharge my batteries, I can unwind, and I can do whatever I want to do, in peace and quiet, until I am ready to go out and engage with the world again.

Coming home. It just makes me happy.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment